Welcome to blessingsreiki.com

blessings reiki.com




Reiki as defined by the Oxford English dictionary is:-“A healing technique based on the principle that the therapist can channel energy into the patient  to activate the natural healing processes of the patient’s body and restore physical and emotional well-being”.

The Japanese word ‘Reiki’ literally translates as universal life force energy. This system of healing was developed by Mikao Usui in the early 20th century.It is a non-invasive complementary therapy that has been taught and used in the UK since the late 1900s, eastern medicine has for thousands of years worked with this energy, recognising its flow through all living things. 

Reiki supports orthodox medicine or can be used alone but is not a replacement for traditional medication or treatments. It is not based on any belief, faith or suggestion.

Reiki is given fully clothed in a quiet environment and is safe for adults, children, mothers–to–be, babies and animals. 

The system of Reiki


There are three levels to the system of Reiki:

Mindfulness & meditation 

Shoden Level I: Beginners teachings

Shoden teaches how to practise healing the self and the basics about helping others. At this level the student is heading out on the path to self-discovery, this is just the beginning.

Okuden Level II: Hidden or inner teachings

Through Okuden, the student develops many of the skills taught in Shoden, deepening and expanding the student’s understanding of Mikao Usui’s teachings, and thus enriching his or her practice.

Shipinden Level III: mystery teachings

Shinpiden focuses on personal development and teaches the student how to perform attunements. At this level you move into discovering more about the mysteries of life. How you relate to yourself and the universe. This can be practised for the rest of your life and is always a personal practise which can develop into a professional teaching practice if you so desire.

Reiki is not about paperwork or a timetable or any other human schedule. It is an energetic practise and therefore can only be experienced energetically. Reiki is a lifetime practise, so there should be no hurry to move to the next level. For each individual there will be an appropriate time to move on to a new level. Once a student has completed Shoden, it will take time to practise what has been learned, and to adjust to the new level of energy in the body, before moving on to the next level of teaching. Largely, it will depend upon a student’s home situation and the availability of time to practise. 

A mother with a full-time job and numerous hobbies may have little time to practise. A traveler who has taken 12 months off may have all the time in the world.

The Reiki Precepts


Just for today:

I will let go of anger

I will let go of worry

I will do my work honestly

I will count my many blessings

I will be kind and compassionate to myself and others

The five elements of Reiki

  1. Developing Spiritual and Mental Focus This occurs through working with the precepts, and, traditionally, poetry which was written by the Meiji Emperor.   
  2. Techniques and Meditations These traditional practices are taught throughout all three levels.  
  3. Hands-on Healing This is the physical aspect which can be used on the self or others for the purpose of healing.  
  4. Four Mantras and Symbols Four mantras and symbols. Three in Level II and one in Level III.  
  5. Reiju/Attunements These are received during a Reiki course (and at follow-up practise groups) and taught at the Shinpiden level.